Sick on top of sick

A couple of weeks ago, I was doing okay. We even went out of town for a few days, and with time for rest, I really enjoyed myself and was able to “keep up” pretty well. Then it happened – The Stomach Bug. Dun, dun, dunnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!

Oh, it was ugly. I’ll spare you the details, but I was left with a very empty stomach, an aching body, and the overall feeling that all of my Lyme symptoms were cranked to 100. It took me nearly a week to be able to eat normally again. My stomach was pretty much empty for three days.

Empty stomach means no pills.

I went from 40 pills per day to ZERO overnight. Between recovering from the bug, the dehydration, the lack of nutrition, and going cold turkey off all of my pills, I was a HOT MESS. I contacted my doctor to find out how best to get back into my meds routine and was advised on how to add them all back in. I am currently still in the process of this, and getting to relive the side effects (like queasy stomach) that I had the first time I started taking each one as I add it back in.

A 24 hour bug that I’m still dealing with nine days later. That’s sick on top of sick for ya.

Leave a Reply

