Change

First off, my son is recovering wonderfully from his hernia surgery. Everything went smoothly, and he has bounced back in record time. It was a long day, but it went as well as it possibly could have, and I’m so glad we were able to get it taken care of before we move and school starts.

The surgery is just one of so many milestones happening at the same time. The day before the procedure was his last day of summer camp – the last day going to the preschool he’s attended for three years. A few days before that was his last haircut at the place he’s been going to for four years – since his very first haircut. We bought his backpack and lunch box for kindergarten. We’ve been helping him go through his room and get rid of toys, books, and clothes that he’s outgrown in preparation for moving. Change, change, change.

I taught my last music class here in our current town. I always planned to continue teaching when we moved to the city, but plans have changed. I’m so sad about it, but I know taking a break from teaching is for the best. We move in a week. My son starts kindergarten right after. The following week should be the beginning of my twice weekly antibiotic injections. Between helping my son adjust to kindergarten and city life, and starting a new, more intense treatment that will likely bring big herxheimer reactions, not to mention unpacking and setting up our new home, it just doesn’t make sense to add trying to teach in a new city, under a new director, with new families at the same time. I will miss teaching terribly, but I am confident I will get back to it one day. It is hard to let it go – a year ago, I had two jobs that I love, and now I have none. Big change.

Our apartment is in full moving mode. Boxes piling up. Things we don’t need or can’t use in the new place being donated or sold. New things that we’ll need coming in. More “lasts” on the horizon, and after that will be a sea of firsts! Change, change, change.

Time to turn and face the strange…

(Any excuse for Bowie. Always.)

Leave a comment